Donna Nellas
2 min readJan 26, 2021
photo from Dallas Morning News

DECLUTTERING

To declutter means to remove unnecessary things from overcrowded places.

For me, I see overcrowded places not just in my closet or stockroom. They can be in the people that surround me, in my thoughts and in my heart.

One good thing that this pandemic has allowed me to do is to DECLUTTER…in all aspects of my life.

Decluttering toxic people, my thoughts and my heart are the most challenging. They’re the most difficult and need a lot of time and effort. It’s important to know what and who matter most in your life. To detach yourself from the unnecessary is necessary.

It’s been almost a year now since I started to declutter, I am proud to say that I’m almost done.

With all the that we have been through in this pandemic, you really get to see who and what are important to you. When you get rid of the rest, you start to feel love and support in your surroundings, peace of mind and a grateful heart.

For material things, this is another story to tell. I realized that we hoard too much and most of the time we buy out of want rather than need.

I gathered everything and asked myself: Are you going to put up a restaurant with all that dinnerware, serving dishes and cookware? Are you going to build an inn or hostel with that number of bedsheets and pillowcases and comforters? Do you have an outing every day for you to need that much clothes? The answers are all NO. So why hoard all that stuff?

I’m proud to say that after 10 months now I’m halfway through my decluttering. As for what I did with my extra stuff? I sold, I bartered, I gave, and believe me, it gave me so much joy.

When we declutter, it gives us order, direction, improvement of well-being, and it will enrich your life.

To end, I would just like to say that when we are done decluttering, it does not end there, because as long as we are alive, we get to meet people that may not be good for us. We will still encounter unhealthy thoughts, betrayal from people and we will still tend to buy stuff that we might not actually need.

The only difference now is we already have the self-control and awareness that clutter steals our joy, and that simplifying our lives will give more meaning in our existence.